top of page
Community Board

Executive Committee:

  • Wendy Cummings, RN BSN– Chair

  • Jim Berl, Esq.  – Treasurer

  • Francine Norz-Tobin, Esq.  –  Recording Secretary

  • Loretta Novince, Ph.D. – Consultant


Community Board:

Our community board is strongly represented throughout the areas of Hilton Head Island and Bluffton. Each member represents a sector, as seen below, creating a catalyst of knowledge, skills, and passions to create change and actively pursue decreasing substance use/abuse and related risk behaviors among local area youth.


Community Board Members:

James Berl, Esq.
Youth Serving Organization: Island Rec Center

David Burke
Health Professional: Burke's Pharmacy

Marilyn Calore
Health Professional

Tia Campanella
Business: Shear Faith

Wendy Cummings, RN BSN
Health Professional: Cross Schools

Jill DelGuercio
School: Hilton Head Christian Academy

Lynn Geiger Ph.D.
Health Professional: Psychologist

Cheryl George
Health Professional: Bluffton High School

Mary Lou Haraburd
Business: Berkshire Hathaway

SLED Agent Chandler Horney
Law Enforcement: SC Law Enforcement Division

Grey Cummings
School: Cross Schools

Katarina Lech, Pharm. D.
Health Professional: Pharmacist

David Martin
Business: Piggly Wiggly

Erin Pawlak

Health Professional

Joy Nelson

Jillian Campanella

Youth Sector 

Francine Norz-Tobin, Esq.
Government: 14th Circuit Solicitors Office

Loretta Novince, Ph.D.
Health Professional: Psychologist

Marty Pauls, DDS
Civic Organization: Rotary

Galen Sturup-Comeau
Substance Abuse Agency: Beaufort Co. BCADAD

Sgt. Craig Washington
Law Enforcement: SRO/Beaufort Co. Sheriffs Dep.

Cheryl Rodriguez
Parent Sector

Jennifer Weidner
Parent Sector

Florentina Hartley
School: Hilton Head Island High School


  • Laura Pirkey – DFC Program Director/ Teens for Healthy Youth Coordinator

  • Mckencie Guerrero – DFC Program Coordinator

THY School Advisors:

Bluffton High School - Cheryl George, Laura Pirkey

Cross Schools - Wendy Cummings, Grey Anne Cummings

Hilton Head Christian Academy - Jill DelGuercio

Hilton Head Island High School - Mary Meghan Burke, Florentina Hartley

Hilton Head Preparatory - Charmin Lee, Abby Frey

May River High School - Tiffanie Elrod, Veronica Llambias 


  • THY - Bluffton High School, Ben Vaught and Amber VanHorn - Summer 2023

  • THY - Cross Schools, Payton Ward - Summer 2023

  • THY - Hilton Head Preparatory - Jacob Pirkey - Summer 2023

  • THY Hilton Head Christian Academy - Jillian Campanella - Summers 2022, 2023

  • THY Bluffton High School - Anna Gustowski - Fall/Winter 2022

  • THY Bluffton High School - Emily Henderson - Winter 2023

  • THY – May River High School, Kylie Nelson – Fall 2021/ Spring 2022 

  • USCB Student, Grey Cummings – Spring 2021

  • USCB Department of Public Health Student, Parker Sellers – Spring 2020

  • USCB Department of Public Health Students, Tia Bowers & Ti Gilliard – Spring/Summer 2019

  • Liberty University Student, Adelynn Helms – Summer 2019

bottom of page